Skip to content

December 12th I got…

Pretty bookmail.

Like, really pretty.

img_8597

Did you guys get the chance to support Project for Awesome 2016? It’s a foundation that decreases World Suck, run by many vloggers, including Hank and John Green. And they raised over two million dollars this year, which is up 500,000 from last year. So yay for Project for Awesome.

I actually ordered two books from their indiegogo perks–a signed hardcover of one of John Green’s books, and a signed, advanced reader’s copy of some YouTuber’s upcoming novel that I just can’t seem to remember the name of.

Oh well.

Overall, I donated $150, and I’m so excited about it.

You can still get some of their awesome perks and donate!! So what are you waiting for!! Go, go, go.

Onto my book mail.

I got two packages from Barnes & Noble and December’s LitJoy Crate, which I will unbox tomorrow or the next day, so stay tuned!

First box:

img_8588

 Guys, I am so obsessed with this edition. How pretty is it?? This is one of my favorite books on planet earth, so I had to have it. Plus, it’s perfect for all my festive bookstagrams, not that I’m weird and buy books for that reason or anything… 😉

Description:

Limited collector’s edition of #1 New York Times bestselling The Fault in Our Stars featuring an exclusive silver jacket, all-new endpaper art by Rodrigo Corral, and an extensive Q&A introduced by the author!

TIME Magazine #1 Fiction Book of 2012

John Green is one of Entertainment Weekly’s Entertainers of the Year 2012

#1 New York Times bestseller

#1 Wall Street Journal fiction list

#1 Children’s Indiebound Pick

New York Times Editor’s Choice

Unprecedented EIGHT starred reviews

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

img_8589

Lol! I love his last name.

This book has the type of premise I can get SO obsessed with. I can’t wait to read it.

Description:

Welcome to Spencerville, Virginia, 1977. Eight-year-old Rocky worships his older brother, Paul. Sixteen and full of rebel cool, Paul spends his days cruising in his Chevy Nova blasting Neil Young, cigarette dangling from his lips, arm slung around his beautiful, troubled girlfriend. Paul is happy to have his younger brother as his sidekick. Then one day, in an act of vengeance against their father, Paul picks up Rocky from school and nearly abandons him in the woods. Afterward, Paul disappears.

Seven years later, Rocky is a teenager himself. He hasn’t forgotten being abandoned by his boyhood hero, but he’s getting over it, with the help of the wealthy neighbors’ daughter, ten years his senior, who has taken him as her lover. Unbeknownst to both of them, their affair will set in motion a course of events that rains catastrophe on both their families. After a mysterious double murder brings terror and suspicion to their small town, Rocky and his family must reckon with the past and find out how much forgiveness their hearts can hold.

img_8586

I FINALLY picked this one up. It took me awhile.

To be completely honest, I don’t find myself that drawn in by just the back flap description alone. I sort of needed millions of people to read it just to convince myself that it was for me.

I’ll probably get to this one in February.

My TBR list is honestly menacing. I need more time in the day to read.

Description:

AFTER FOUR HARROWING YEARS ON THE WESTERN Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

Tom, who keeps meticulous records and whose moral principles have withstood a horrific war, wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel insists the baby is a “gift from God,” and against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. Their choice has devastated one of them.

img_8593

I think I love this book without even reading it because I know this woman went through SO many rejections before she finally found an agent to help her get published. And, as a writer myself, I just so understand that struggle. More so than I can say.

I used to own a copy of this book back when I lived in my parents’ house in Montana. I had it tucked in my bedside table’s drawer for like years, and I decided to read the first hundred pages and couldn’t get into it.

But now, I’m determined to love the shit out of it. Because the movie is amazing.

Description:

Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who’s always taken orders quietly, but lately she’s unable to hold her bitterness back. Her friend Minny has never held her tongue but now must somehow keep secrets about her employer that leave her speechless. White socialite Skeeter just graduated college. She’s full of ambition, but without a husband, she’s considered a failure. Together, these seemingly different women join together to write a tell-all book about work as a black maid in the South, that could forever alter their destinies and the life of a small town…

It might be just me, but I don’t feel that back flap description accurately describes the prowess of this book.

I can’t believe how many reviews this book has, and yet it still has 4+ stars on everything. That truly is amazing.

Second box (or package):

img_8587

This was a recommendation from one of my favorite followers on Instagram. I read the description and first page, and I have to say, it sounds really really interesting. Also, how cool is that cover? I’m mini obsessed.

Anywho, I strongly recommend this one based purely off the premise.

Though, be warned, it doesn’t have great reviews. I guess I’ll just have to decide for myself. I’m putting my faith in you, nameless Instagrammer.

Description:

In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn’t believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, Everything Matters! is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: