Skip to content

November 18th I got…

If you’re not thinking BOOKMAIL, then you clearly haven’t read my blog before… so welcome friend.

BOOOOOOOKMAILLLLLLLLLLLLLL.

*runs around the house screaming*

Okay, hey, I’m back.

Really fucking great bookmail.

I can’t tell you what kind of day I was having before my bookmail came, but I can definitely tell you that it wasn’t anywhere near as bright and sparkling as after the bookmail came in the arms of my mailman/fairy godmother of books.

img_2811

This book glows in the fucking dark.

Let that sink in.

When I discovered this I ran into my bathroom and stared at it in my dark bathtub.

No. I’m not weird.

Description:

The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon away from life as a San Francisco web-design drone and into the aisles of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. But after a few days on the job, Clay discovers that the store is more curious than either its name or its gnomic owner might suggest. The customers are few, and they never seem to buy anything—instead, they “check out” large, obscure volumes from strange corners of the store. Suspicious, Clay engineers an analysis of the clientele’s behavior, seeking help from his variously talented friends. But when they bring their findings to Mr. Penumbra, they discover the bookstore’s secrets extend far beyond its walls. Rendered with irresistible brio and dazzling intelligence, Robin Sloan’s Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is exactly what it sounds like: an establishment you have to enter and will never want to leave.

img_2809

I’m really excited about this one. I’ve read my fair share of novels following young teens as cutters, but this one follows an adult woman with a life, husband, child, and I’m anxious to get into it.

Description:

Natalie is a wife.
Natalie is a mother.
Natalie is a cutter.

Clawing at walls built by resentment, regret, and guilt, Natalie cuts as an escape from a life she never planned.

Staying present is only possible when you let go of the past. But, what if the past won’t let go of you?

This book is growing in popularity steadily. I’ve seen it featured on tons of book blogs recently, which makes me feel really one with the times as I got a book before it had trended and then faded away, which is normally when I start picking them up.

Getting the hang of it guys.

Description:

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl’s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Maguire knows she’s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist’s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.

img_2817

Just watched Voldemort hug Draco in the second part of Deathly Hallows and it was awkward as per usual and now I’ve gotten sidetracked.

*glances at The Magnolia Story*

Oh, I’m back. BECAUSE CHIP AND JOANNA.

SHIPLAP! DEMO DAY!

*runs around the house screaming again*

I’m back.

God, I can’t wait to read this. How cute are they? I can just hear them argue-laughing in my head. Joanna just looking at him like god, you’re the greatest and weirdest human on this planet.

Description:

Are you ready to see your fixer upper?

These famous words are now synonymous with the dynamic husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines, stars of HGTV’s Fixer Upper. As this question fills the airwaves with anticipation, their legions of fans continue to multiply and ask a different series of questions, like—Who are these people?What’s the secret to their success? And is Chip actually that funny in real life? By renovating homes in Waco, Texas, and changing lives in such a winsome and engaging way, Chip and Joanna have become more than just the stars of Fixer Upper, they have become America’s new best friends.

The Magnolia Story is the first book from Chip and Joanna, offering their fans a detailed look at their life together. From the very first renovation project they ever tackled together, to the project that nearly cost them everything; from the childhood memories that shaped them, to the twists and turns that led them to the life they share on the farm today.

They both attended Baylor University in Waco. However, their paths did not cross until Chip checked his car into the local Firestone tire shop where Joanna worked behind the counter. Even back then Chip was a serial entrepreneur who, among other things, ran a lawn care company, sold fireworks, and flipped houses. Soon they were married and living in their first fixer upper. Four children and countless renovations later, Joanna garners the attention of a television producer who notices her work on a blog one day.

In The Magnolia Story fans will finally get to join the Gaines behind the scenes and discover:

    • The time Chip ran to the grocery store and forgot to take their new, sleeping baby
    • Joanna’s agonizing decision to close her dream business to focus on raising their children
    • When Chip buys a houseboat, sight-unseen, and it turns out to be a leaky wreck
    • Joanna’s breakthrough moment of discovering the secret to creating a beautiful home
    • Harrowing stories of the financial ups and downs as an entrepreneurial couple
    • Memories and photos from Chip and Jo’s wedding
    • The significance of the word magnolia and why it permeates everything they do
    • The way the couple pays the popularity of Fixer Upper forward, sharing the success with others, and bolstering the city of Waco along the way

 

And yet there is still one lingering question for fans of the show: Is Chip really that funny? “Oh yeah,” says Joanna. “He was, and still is, my first fixer upper.”

 

Great batch. Great.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: